Planning Portal

  1. News and blog
  2. News and Blog
  3. 2011
  4. June 2011
  5. 30 June 2011
  6. More LPAs opt to trial new levy regime

More LPAs opt to trial new levy regime

A second group of councils has been named by the Government and will now join the Community Infrastructure Levy Front Runners project. This was set up to support local authorities keen to develop effective ways of implementing the reformed levy in their areas.

The levy gives councils more choice and flexibility in how they fund infrastructure and has the potential to raise an estimated £1bn a year of funding by 2016 that can be used by neighbourhoods and councils to support local growth.

Decentralisation Minister Greg Clark said: “Yet again we've seen a lot of enthusiasm from councils eager to introduce the reformed Community Infrastructure Levy, to ensure the many benefits development can bring are not lost to local communities.

"This second wave of Front Runners will ensure local neighbourhoods reap the rewards from growth in their areas and provide valuable lessons others can learn from in the future."

Each Front Runner will have access to a tailored package of support from the Planning Advisory Service to help them set a charge for their area. This will include group workshops and good practice advice.

Helen Howie, principal planning officer at Shropshire Council, one of the first Front Runner councils introducing the levy, said:

"The Front Runners Programme has been really useful for developing our Charging Schedule. The project's helped us develop the right approach for Shropshire, which complies with the regulations and helps delivers our local ambitions."

The 20 councils selected for phase two are:

  • London Borough of Barnet
  • Barnsley Metropolitan Council
  • Bristol City Council
  • Cambridgeshire Horizons (East Cambridgeshire District Council and Huntingdonshire District Council)
  • Chelmsford Borough Council
  • London Borough of Croydon
  • Elmbridge Borough Council
  • Gedling Borough Council
  • Havant Borough Council
  • London Borough of Islington
  • Milton Keynes Council
  • Oxford City Council
  • Plymouth City Council
  • Redcar and Cleveland Council
  • St Helens Council
  • London Borough of Sutton
  • Swindon Borough Council
  • Torbay Council
  • London Borough of Wandsworth
  • Wycombe District Council.


Roger Milne

30 June 2011